An Ode to Charlie Brown


CLICK TOON TO ENLARGE

CLICK TOON TO ENLARGE

I’ve been reading Charles Schulz  Peanuts comic strip for as long as I can remember.  Certainly longer than I’ve been drawing comic strips.  As a kid I read my Peanuts Classic Treasury and Snoopy, Come Home books (both of which I still have) over and over again, not to mention the daily and Sunday strips.  If this isn’t THE classic American comic strip, I’m not sure what is.  I just finished reading Volume One of Fantagraphics Complete Peanuts and of course loved every page.  Recently we’ve been playing baseball/softball with our kids, some of their friends and parents on the weekends, which has been way more fun than I could have imagined when we started.  So I think all of these things came together in my mind when it was time to draw the weekly strip.  I’m not sure I would say Peanuts inspired me to start drawing comics oh so many years ago, but there is no doubt it helps drive my creativity each week,  and my admiration for Schulz work has grown exponentially over the last five years.  This is my inadequate way of saying “thank you.”

Leave a Reply

